Präzisions-Leiterplattenherstellung, Hochfrequenz-Leiterplatten, mehrschichtige Leiterplatten und Leiterplattenbestückung.
Leiterplatte Blog
PCB Board Failure Analysis Technology Enzyklopädie
Leiterplatte Blog
PCB Board Failure Analysis Technology Enzyklopädie

PCB Board Failure Analysis Technology Enzyklopädie

2022-01-05
View:308
Author:pcb

Als Träger verschiedener Komponenten und der Hub der Schaltungssignalenübertragung, die Leiterplatte ist ein wichtiger und wichtiger Bestundteil elektronischer Informationsprodukte geworden. Seine Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit bestimmen die Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit der gesamten Ausrüstung. Allerdings, aus Kosten- und technischen Gründen, bei der Herstellung und Anwendung von Leiterplattes. Für diese Art von Fehlerproblem, Wir müssen einige häufig verwendete Fehleranalysetechniken verwenden, um die Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit der Leiterplattes wenn sie hergestellt werden. Dieser Artikel fasst zehn Fehleranalysetechniken als Referenz zusammen.

Leiterplatte

1. Visual inspection
Appearance inspection is to inspect the appearance of the Leiterplatte visuell oder mit einigen einfachen Instrumenten, wie ein Stereomikroskop, ein metallographisches Mikroskop oder sogar eine Lupe, Ermittlung des Fehlerortes und der damit verbundenen physischen Beweise. Die Hauptfunktion besteht darin, den Fehler zu lokalisieren und zunächst den Fehlermodus der Leiterplatte. . Die Sichtprüfung prüft hauptsächlich die Leiterplatte Verschmutzung, Korrosion, die Position der gebrochenen Platte, die Stromverdrahtung und die Regelmäßigkeit des Ausfalls, wenn es sich um Chargen- oder Einzelstücke handelt, ist es immer in einem bestimmten Bereich konzentriert, etc. Darüber hinaus, viele Leiterplatte Fehler werden erst nach Leiterplatte A ist montiert. Ob der Fehler durch den Montageprozess und die verwendeten Materialien verursacht wird, erfordert auch eine sorgfältige Überprüfung der Eigenschaften des Fehlerbereichs.

2. X-ray fluoroscopy
For some parts that cannot be visually inspected, sowie die inneren und anderen inneren Defekte der Durchgangslöcher der Leiterplatte, Das Röntgenfluoroskopiesystem muss zur Inspektion verwendet werden. Das Röntgenfluoroskopie-System verwendet unterschiedliche Materialstärken oder unterschiedliche Materialdichten basierend auf den verschiedenen Prinzipien der Feuchtigkeitsaufnahme oder Transmission von Röntgenstrahlen für die Bildgebung. Diese Technologie wird mehr verwendet, um die internen Defekte von Leiterplatte Eine Lötstelle, die inneren Defekte der Durchgangslöcher, und Positionierung defekter Lötstellen von BGA- oder CSP-Geräten in hochdichten Verpackungen. Die Auflösung der aktuellen industriellen Röntgenfluoroskopie-Ausrüstung kann ein Mikron oder weniger erreichen, und es ändert sich von zweidimensionaler zu dreidimensionaler Bildgebungsausrüstung. There are even five-dimensional (5D) equipment used for package inspection, Aber diese Art von 5D X Das optische Perspektivsystem ist sehr teuer und hat selten praktische Anwendungen in der Industrie.

3. Slice analysis
Slicing analysis is the process of obtaining the cross-sectional structure of the Leiterplatte durch eine Reihe von Methoden und Schritten wie Probenahme, Einlegen, Schneiden, Polieren, Korrosion, und Beobachtung. Durch Schnittanalyse, Wir können reiche Informationen über die Mikrostruktur erhalten, die die Qualität der Leiterplatte (through holes, Beschichtung, etc.), das eine gute Basis für die nächste Qualitätsverbesserung bietet. Allerdings, Diese Methode ist zerstörerisch. Einmal geschnitten, die Probe wird unvermeidlich vernichtet; zur gleichen Zeit, Diese Methode erfordert eine hohe Probenvorbereitung und dauert eine lange Zeit, um die Probe vorzubereiten, Das erfordert gut ausgebildete Techniker, um. Für detailliertes Schneiden, Bitte beachten Sie den IPC Standard IPC-TM-650 2.1.1 und IPC-MS-810.

4. Scanning acoustic microscope
At present, Das C-Mode Ultraschallscanning Akustikmikroskop wird hauptsächlich für elektronische Verpackung oder Versammlungsanalyse verwendet. Es verwendet die Amplitude, Phase- und Polaritätsänderungen, die durch Reflexion hochfrequenter Ultraschallwellen an der diskontinuierlichen Schnittstelle des Materials zum Bild entstehen. Die Z-Achse scannt die Informationen auf der X-Y-Ebene. Daher, Das akustische Rastermikroskop kann verwendet werden, um Komponenten zu detektieren, Materialien, und verschiedene Defekte innerhalb der Leiterplatte and Leiterplatte A, einschließlich Risse, Delamination, Einschlüsse, und Hohlräume. Wenn die Frequenzbreite der Abtastakustik ausreicht, Auch interne Defekte der Lötstellen können direkt erkannt werden. Ein typisches scannendes akustisches Bild verwendet eine rote Warnfarbe, um das Vorhandensein von Fehlern anzuzeigen. Weil im SMT-Prozess eine große Anzahl von kunststoffverpackten Bauteilen zum Einsatz kommt, Bei der Umwandlung von bleifreiem zu bleifreiem Prozess entstehen eine große Anzahl von Feuchterückflussempfindlichkeitsproblemen. Das heißt:, Feuchtigkeitsabsorbierende Kunststoffverpackungsgeräte treten beim Reflow bei einer höheren bleifreien Prozesstemperatur im Inneren oder im Substrat Delaminationsrisse auf, und gewöhnlich Leiterplattes wird oft unter der hohen Temperatur des bleifreien Prozesses platzen. Zur Zeit, Das scannende Akustikmikroskop unterstreicht seine besonderen Vorteile bei der zerstörungsfreien Fehlererkennung von mehrschichtigen Hochdichten Leiterplattes. Allgemein, Offensichtliche Ausbrüche können nur durch visuelle Inspektion des Aussehens erkannt werden.

5. Micro-infrared analysis
Micro-infrared analysis is an analysis method that combines infrared spectroscopy and microscope. It uses the principle of different absorption of infrared spectra by different materials (mainly organic matter) to analyze the compound composition of the material. In Kombination mit dem Mikroskop, Das sichtbare Licht und Infrarotlicht können gleich sein. Der Lichtweg, solange es sich im sichtbaren Sichtfeld befindet, Hier finden Sie die Spur organischer Schadstoffe, die analysiert werden sollen. Ohne die Kombination eines Mikroskops, Infrarotspektroskopie kann in der Regel nur Proben mit einer großen Probenmenge analysieren. Allerdings, in vielen Fällen in der Elektroniktechnik, Mikroverschmutzung kann zu schlechter Lötbarkeit von Leiterplatten-Pads oder Bleistiften führen. Es ist denkbar, dass es ohne Infrarotspektroskopie schwierig ist, Prozessprobleme mit einem Mikroskop zu lösen. Der Hauptzweck der Mikro-Infrarot-Analyse ist die Analyse der organischen Verunreinigungen auf der geschweißten Oberfläche oder der Oberfläche der Lötstelle, und analysieren Sie die Ursache von Korrosion oder schlechter Lötbarkeit.

6. Scanning electron microscope analysis
Scanning electron microscope (SEM) is a useful large-scale electron microscopy imaging system for failure analysis. Sein Arbeitsprinzip besteht darin, den von der Kathode emittierten Elektronenstrahl zu verwenden, um durch die Anode beschleunigt zu werden, und einen Strahl mit einem Durchmesser von mehreren Zehnen bis mehreren Zehnen bis mehreren Zehnen nach Fokussierung durch eine magnetische Linse zu bilden. A thousand Angstroms (A) of electron beam, unter der Ablenkung der Abtastspule, Der Elektronenstrahl scannt die Oberfläche der Probe Punkt für Punkt in einer bestimmten Zeit- und Raumfolge. Dieser hochenergetische Elektronenstrahl bombardiert die Oberfläche der Probe und regt an. Eine Vielzahl von Informationen kann gesammelt und vergrößert werden, um verschiedene entsprechende Grafiken von der Anzeige zu erhalten.. Die angeregten Sekundärelektronen werden im Bereich von 5-10nm auf der Oberfläche der Probe erzeugt. Daher, Die Sekundärelektronen können die Morphologie der Probenoberfläche besser widerspiegeln, so werden sie oft für morphologische Beobachtungen verwendet; Während die angeregten zurückgestreuten Elektronen auf der Probenoberfläche 100 im Bereich von ~1000nm erzeugt werden, Die zurückgestreuten Elektronen mit unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften werden entsprechend der Atomnummer der Substanz emittiert. Daher, Das rückgestreute Elektronenbild hat morphologische Eigenschaften und die Fähigkeit, die Atomzahl zu unterscheiden. Daher, Das rückgestreute Elektronenbild kann die chemische Elementzusammensetzung widerspiegeln Verteilung. Das aktuelle Rasterelektronenmikroskop hat sehr leistungsfähige Funktionen, und jede feine Struktur oder Oberflächeneigenschaft kann Hunderttausende Male für Beobachtung und Analyse vergrößert werden. In der Fehleranalyse von Leiterplattes oder Lötstellen, SEM wird hauptsächlich verwendet, um den Ausfallmechanismus zu analysieren. Insbesondere, Es wird verwendet, um die topographische Struktur der Pad-Oberfläche zu beobachten, die metallographische Struktur der Lötstelle, und die intermetallische Verbindung und Lötbarkeit messen. Beschichtungsanalyse und Zinn Whisker Analyse und Messung. Im Gegensatz zu einem optischen Mikroskop, Das Rasterelektronenmikroskop erzeugt ein elektronisches Bild, So werden nur Schwarz und Weiß Farben produziert. Die Probe des Rasterelektronenmikroskops erfordert Leitfähigkeit. Nichtleiter und einige Halbleiter müssen mit Gold oder Kohlenstoff besprüht werden. Ansonsten, Die Ansammlung von Ladungen auf der Oberfläche der Probe beeinflusst die Beobachtung der Probe. Darüber hinaus, Die Schärfentiefe des Rasterelektronenmikroskopbildes ist weit größer als die des optischen Mikroskops, und es ist eine wichtige Analysemethode für ungleichmäßige Proben wie metallographische Struktur, Mikrofraktur, und Zinnhaar.

7. X-ray energy spectrum analysis
The scanning electron microscope mentioned above is generally equipped with an X-ray energy spectrometer. Wenn ein hochenergetischer Elektronenstrahl auf die Oberfläche der Probe trifft, Die inneren Elektronen in den Atomen der Oberflächensubstanz werden bombardiert und entweichen. Wenn die äußeren Elektronen auf ein niedrigeres Energieniveau übergehen, charakteristische Röntgenstrahlen werden angeregt. Die Eigenschaften der verschiedenen Atomenergieniveaus verschiedener Elemente werden emittiert. Röntgenstrahlen sind anders. Daher, Die charakteristischen Röntgenstrahlen der Probe können als chemische Zusammensetzung analysiert werden. Zur gleichen Zeit, entsprechend dem Detektionsröntgensignal als charakteristische Wellenlänge oder charakteristische Energie, the corresponding instruments are called spectral dispersion spectrometer (abbreviated as spectrometer, WDS) and energy dispersion spectrometer (abbreviated as energy spectrometer, EDS), und die Auflösung des Spektrometers Es ist höher als das Energiespektrometer, und die Analysegeschwindigkeit des Energiespektrometers ist schneller als die des Spektrometers. Aufgrund der hohen Geschwindigkeit und niedrigen Kosten des Energiespektrometers, Die allgemeine Rasterelektronenmikroskopkonfiguration ist das Energiespektrometer. Mit den verschiedenen Scanmethoden des Elektronenstrahls, Das Energiespektrometer kann Oberflächenpunktanalysen durchführen, Linienanalyse, und Oberflächenanalyse, und kann Informationen über die unterschiedliche Verteilung der Elemente erhalten. Punktanalyse erhält alle Elemente eines Punktes; Zeilenanalyse führt jedes Mal eine Elementanalyse auf einer bestimmten Zeile durch, und scannt mehrmals, um die Linienverteilung aller Elemente zu erhalten; Oberflächenanalyse analysiert alle Elemente in einer bestimmten Oberfläche, und der gemessene Elementgehalt ist der Mittelwert des Messflächenbereichs. In der Analyse von Leiterplattes, Das Energiespektrometer wird hauptsächlich für die Bauteilanalyse der Oberfläche des Pads verwendet, und die Elementanalyse der Oberflächenverunreinigungen der schlechten Lötbarkeit des Pads und des Bleistifts. Die Genauigkeit der quantitativen Analyse durch Energiespektrometer ist begrenzt, und der Inhalt von weniger als 0.1% ist im Allgemeinen nicht leicht zu erkennen. Durch den kombinierten Einsatz von Energiespektroskopie und SEM können gleichzeitig Oberflächentopographie und -zusammensetzungsinformationen gewonnen werden, deshalb sind sie weit verbreitet.

8. Photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) analysis
When the sample is irradiated by X-rays, Die inneren Schalenelektronen der Oberflächenatome lösen sich von der Bindung des Atomkerns und entkommen der festen Oberfläche zu Elektronen. Durch Messung seiner kinetischen Energie Ex, Die Bindungsenergie Eb der inneren Schalenelektronen der Atome kann gewonnen werden. Unterschiedliche Elektronenschalen sind unterschiedlich. Es ist der "Fingerabdruck" Identifikationsparameter des Atoms, and the spectral line formed is the photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS). XPS can be used for qualitative and quantitative analysis of elements on the surface of the sample (several nanometers). Darüber hinaus, Informationen über die chemische Valenz von Elementen können auch anhand der chemischen Verschiebung der Bindungsenergie gewonnen werden. Es kann Informationen über die Bindung des atomaren Valenzstatus der Oberflächenschicht und der umgebenden Elemente geben; der einfallende Strahl ist ein Röntgenphotonenstrahl, so it can be analyzed for insulating samples without damaging the analyzed sample for rapid multi-element analysis; it can also be used in the case of argon ion stripping Longitudinal element distribution analysis is performed on multiple layers (see below), and the sensitivity is much higher than the energy spectrum (EDS). XPS wird hauptsächlich in der Analyse von Leiterplatte Analyse der Qualität der Beschichtungsschicht, Schadstoffanalyse und Oxidationsgradanalyse zur Bestimmung der tief verwurzelten Ursachen schlechter Lötbarkeit.

9. Thermal analysis differential scanning calorimetry (Differential Scanning Calorim-etry)
A method of measuring the relationship between the power difference between the input material and the reference material and the temperature (or time) under program temperature control. DSC ist mit zwei Sätzen von Kompensationsheizdrähten unter dem Probe- und Referenzbehälter ausgestattet. Wenn die Temperaturdifferenz ΔT zwischen der Probe und der Referenz aufgrund der thermischen Wirkung während des Heizvorgangs auftritt, Die Differenzwärmeverstärkerschaltung und der Differenzwärmekompensationsverstärker können verwendet werden, So dass sich der Strom, der in den Ausgleichsheizdraht fließt, ändert. Die Wärmebilanz zwischen den beiden Seiten, die Temperaturdifferenz ΔT verschwindet, and the difference between the thermal power of the two electric heating compensations under the sample and the reference substance is recorded with the temperature (or time). Entsprechend dieser Wechselbeziehung, die Physik des Materials kann studiert und analysiert werden. Chemische und thermodynamische Eigenschaften. DSC hat ein breites Anwendungsspektrum, aber in der Analyse von Leiterplattes, Es wird hauptsächlich verwendet, um den Härtungsgrad und die Glasübergangstemperatur verschiedener Polymermaterialien zu messen, die auf der Leiterplatte. Diese beiden Parameter bestimmen die Zuverlässigkeit der Leiterplatte im Folgeprozess. Geschlecht.

10. Thermomechanical Analyzer (TMA)
Thermal Mechanical Analysis is used to measure the deformation properties of solids, Flüssigkeiten und Gele unter thermischer oder mechanischer Kraft unter Programmtemperaturregelung. Häufig verwendete Lastmethoden umfassen Kompression, Penetration, Dehnung, Biegen, etc. Die Prüfsonde wird durch einen Kragbalken und eine daran befestigte Spiralfeder gestützt, und eine Last auf die Probe durch einen Motor aufgebracht wird. Wenn die Probe verformt ist, Der Differenzwandler erkennt diese Änderung und verarbeitet sie zusammen mit Daten wie Temperatur, stress and strain The relationship between the deformation of the material and the temperature (or time) under negligible load can be obtained. According to the relationship between deformation and temperature (or time), die physische, Chemische und thermodynamische Eigenschaften von Materialien können untersucht und analysiert werden. TMA hat ein breites Anwendungsspektrum. Es wird hauptsächlich in der Analyse von Leiterplattes für zwei Schlüsselparameter von Leiterplattes: Messung des linearen Ausdehnungskoeffizienten und der Glasübergangstemperatur. Leiterplattes mit zu großen Ausdehnungskoeffizienten führen häufig zu Bruchversagen der metallisierten Löcher nach dem Löten und Montieren. Aufgrund des hochdichten Entwicklungstrends von Leiterplattes und die Umweltschutzanforderungen bleifrei und halogenfrei, mehr und mehr Leiterplattes haben verschiedene Ausfallprobleme wie schlechte Benetzung, Rissbildung, Delamination, CAF und so weiter. Einführung in die Anwendung dieser Analysetechniken in der Praxis. Die Erfassung des Ausfallmechanismus und Ursachen der Störung Leiterplatte der Qualitätskontrolle der Leiterplatte in der Zukunft, um das Wiederauftreten ähnlicher Probleme zu vermeiden.

Precision PCB Fabrication, High-Frequency PCB, High-Speed PCB, Standard PCB, Multilayer PCB, and PCB Assembly.
The most reliable PCB & PCBA custom service factory.
PCB Blog
PCB Board Failure Analysis Technology Encyclopedia
PCB Blog
PCB Board Failure Analysis Technology Encyclopedia

PCB Board Failure Analysis Technology Encyclopedia

2022-01-05
View:218
Author:pcb

As the carrier of various components and the hub of circuit signal transmission, the PCB board has become an important and key part of electronic information products. Its quality and reliability determine the quality and reliability of the whole equipment. However, due to cost and technical reasons, a large number of failure problems have occurred in the production and application of PCB boards. For this kind of failure problem, we need to use some commonly used failure analysis techniques to ensure the quality and reliability of PCB boards when they are manufactured. This article summarizes ten failure analysis techniques for reference.

pcb board

1. Visual inspection
Appearance inspection is to inspect the appearance of the PCB board visually or with some simple instruments, such as a stereo microscope, a metallographic microscope or even a magnifying glass, to find the failure location and related physical evidence. The main function is to locate the failure and initially determine the failure mode of the PCB board. . The appearance inspection mainly checks the PCB board pollution, corrosion, the location of the broken board, the circuit wiring and the regularity of the failure, if it is batch or individual, is it always concentrated in a certain area, etc. In addition, many PCB board failures are only discovered after PCB board A is assembled. Whether the failure is caused by the assembly process and the materials used in the process also requires careful inspection of the characteristics of the failure area.

2. X-ray fluoroscopy
For some parts that cannot be visually inspected, as well as the internal and other internal defects of the through holes of the PCB board, the X-ray fluoroscopy system has to be used for inspection. The X-ray fluoroscopy system uses different material thicknesses or different material densities based on the different principles of moisture absorption or transmittance of X-rays for imaging. This technology is more used to check the internal defects of PCB board A solder joints, the internal defects of through-holes, and the positioning of defective solder joints of BGA or CSP devices in high-density packaging. The resolution of current industrial X-ray fluoroscopy equipment can reach one micron or less, and it is changing from two-dimensional to three-dimensional imaging equipment. There are even five-dimensional (5D) equipment used for package inspection, but this type of 5D X The optical perspective system is very expensive and rarely has practical applications in the industry.

3. Slice analysis
Slicing analysis is the process of obtaining the cross-sectional structure of the PCB board through a series of methods and steps such as sampling, inlaying, slicing, polishing, corrosion, and observation. Through slice analysis, we can get rich information of the microstructure that reflects the quality of the PCB board (through holes, plating, etc.), which provides a good basis for the next quality improvement. However, this method is destructive. Once sliced, the sample will inevitably be destroyed; at the same time, this method requires high sample preparation and takes a long time to prepare the sample, which requires well-trained technicians to complete. For detailed slicing process, please refer to IPC standard IPC-TM-650 2.1.1 and IPC-MS-810.

4. Scanning acoustic microscope
At present, the C-mode ultrasonic scanning acoustic microscope is mainly used for electronic packaging or assembly analysis. It uses the amplitude, phase and polarity changes generated by the reflection of high-frequency ultrasonic waves on the discontinuous interface of the material to image. The scanning method is along the The Z-axis scans the information on the X-Y plane. Therefore, the scanning acoustic microscope can be used to detect components, materials, and various defects inside the PCB board and PCB board A, including cracks, delamination, inclusions, and voids. If the frequency width of the scanning acoustics is sufficient, the internal defects of the solder joints can also be directly detected. A typical scanning acoustic image uses a red warning color to indicate the existence of defects. Because a large number of plastic packaged components are used in the SMT process, a large number of moisture reflow sensitivity issues are generated during the conversion from lead to lead-free process. That is to say, moisture-absorbing plastic packaged devices will appear internal or substrate delamination cracking during reflow at a higher lead-free process temperature, and ordinary PCB boards will often burst under the high temperature of lead-free process. At this time, the scanning acoustic microscope highlights its special advantages in non-destructive flaw detection of multi-layer high-density PCB boards. Generally, obvious bursts can be detected only by visual inspection of the appearance.

5. Micro-infrared analysis
Micro-infrared analysis is an analysis method that combines infrared spectroscopy and microscope. It uses the principle of different absorption of infrared spectra by different materials (mainly organic matter) to analyze the compound composition of the material. Combined with the microscope, the visible light and infrared light can be the same. The light path, as long as it is in the visible field of view, you can find the trace organic pollutants to be analyzed. Without the combination of a microscope, infrared spectroscopy can usually only analyze samples with a large amount of samples. However, in many cases in electronic technology, micro-pollution can lead to poor solderability of PCB pads or lead pins. It is conceivable that it is difficult to solve process problems without infrared spectroscopy with a microscope. The main purpose of micro-infrared analysis is to analyze the organic contaminants on the welded surface or the surface of the solder joint, and analyze the cause of corrosion or poor solderability.

6. Scanning electron microscope analysis
Scanning electron microscope (SEM) is a useful large-scale electron microscopy imaging system for failure analysis. Its working principle is to use the electron beam emitted from the cathode to be accelerated by the anode, and to form a beam with a diameter of several tens to several tens to several after being focused by a magnetic lens. A thousand Angstroms (A) of electron beam, under the deflection of the scanning coil, the electron beam scans the surface of the sample point by point in a certain time and space sequence. This high-energy electron beam bombards the surface of the sample and will excite A variety of information can be collected and enlarged to obtain various corresponding graphics from the display. The excited secondary electrons are generated in the range of 5-10nm on the surface of the sample. Therefore, the secondary electrons can better reflect the morphology of the sample surface, so they are often used for morphological observation; while the excited backscattered electrons are generated on the sample surface 100 In the range of ~1000nm, the backscattered electrons with different characteristics are emitted according to the atomic number of the substance. Therefore, the backscattered electron image has morphological characteristics and the ability to distinguish the atomic number. Therefore, the backscattered electron image can reflect the chemical element composition Distribution. The current scanning electron microscope has very powerful functions, and any fine structure or surface feature can be magnified hundreds of thousands of times for observation and analysis. In the failure analysis of PCB boards or solder joints, SEM is mainly used to analyze the failure mechanism. Specifically, it is used to observe the topographic structure of the pad surface, the metallographic structure of the solder joint, and measure the intermetallic compound and solderability. Coating analysis and tin whisker analysis and measurement. Unlike an optical microscope, the scanning electron microscope produces an electronic image, so only black and white colors are produced. The sample of the scanning electron microscope requires conductivity. Non-conductors and some semiconductors need to be sprayed with gold or carbon. Otherwise, the accumulation of charges on the surface of the sample will affect Observation of the sample. In addition, the depth of field of the scanning electron microscope image is far greater than that of the optical microscope, and it is an important analysis method for uneven samples such as metallographic structure, micro-fracture, and tin whisker.

7. X-ray energy spectrum analysis
The scanning electron microscope mentioned above is generally equipped with an X-ray energy spectrometer. When a high-energy electron beam hits the surface of the sample, the inner electrons in the atoms of the surface substance are bombarded and escaped. When the outer electrons transition to a lower energy level, characteristic X-rays will be excited. The characteristics of the different atomic energy levels of different elements are emitted. X-rays are different. Therefore, the characteristic X-rays emitted by the sample can be analyzed as the chemical composition. At the same time, according to the detection X-ray signal as the characteristic wavelength or characteristic energy, the corresponding instruments are called spectral dispersion spectrometer (abbreviated as spectrometer, WDS) and energy dispersion spectrometer (abbreviated as energy spectrometer, EDS), and the resolution of the spectrometer It is higher than the energy spectrometer, and the analysis speed of the energy spectrometer is faster than that of the spectrometer. Due to the fast speed and low cost of the energy spectrometer, the general scanning electron microscope configuration is the energy spectrometer. With the different scanning methods of the electron beam, the energy spectrometer can perform surface point analysis, line analysis, and surface analysis, and can obtain information about the different distribution of elements. Point analysis obtains all elements of one point; line analysis performs one element analysis on a specified line each time, and scans multiple times to obtain the line distribution of all elements; surface analysis analyzes all elements in a specified surface, and the measured element content is The average value of the measurement surface range. In the analysis of PCB boards, the energy spectrometer is mainly used for the component analysis of the surface of the pad, and the element analysis of the surface contaminants of the poor solderability of the pad and the lead pin. The accuracy of quantitative analysis by energy spectrometer is limited, and the content of less than 0.1% is generally not easy to detect. The combined use of energy spectroscopy and SEM can simultaneously obtain surface topography and composition information, which is why they are widely used.

8. Photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) analysis
When the sample is irradiated by X-rays, the inner shell electrons of the surface atoms will break away from the bond of the atomic nucleus and escape the solid surface to form electrons. By measuring its kinetic energy Ex, the binding energy Eb of the inner shell electrons of the atoms can be obtained. Different electron shells are different. It is the "fingerprint" identification parameter of the atom, and the spectral line formed is the photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS). XPS can be used for qualitative and quantitative analysis of elements on the surface of the sample (several nanometers). In addition, information about the chemical valence of elements can also be obtained based on the chemical shift of the binding energy. It can give information about the bonding of the surface layer atomic valence state and surrounding elements; the incident beam is an X-ray photon beam, so it can be analyzed for insulating samples without damaging the analyzed sample for rapid multi-element analysis; it can also be used in the case of argon ion stripping Longitudinal element distribution analysis is performed on multiple layers (see below), and the sensitivity is much higher than the energy spectrum (EDS). XPS is mainly used in the analysis of PCB board to analyze the quality of the coating layer, pollutant analysis and oxidation degree analysis to determine the deep-seated causes of poor solderability.

9. Thermal analysis differential scanning calorimetry (Differential Scanning Calorim-etry)
A method of measuring the relationship between the power difference between the input material and the reference material and the temperature (or time) under program temperature control. DSC is equipped with two sets of compensation heating wires under the sample and reference container. When the temperature difference ΔT between the sample and the reference occurs due to the thermal effect during the heating process, the differential thermal amplifier circuit and the differential heat compensation amplifier can be used, So that the current flowing into the compensation heating wire changes. The heat balance between the two sides, the temperature difference ΔT disappears, and the difference between the thermal power of the two electric heating compensations under the sample and the reference substance is recorded with the temperature (or time). According to this change relationship, the physics of the material can be studied and analyzed. Chemical and thermodynamic properties. DSC has a wide range of applications, but in the analysis of PCB boards, it is mainly used to measure the curing degree and glass transition temperature of various polymer materials used on the PCB board. These two parameters determine the reliability of the PCB board in the subsequent process. sex.

10. Thermomechanical Analyzer (TMA)
Thermal Mechanical Analysis is used to measure the deformation properties of solids, liquids and gels under thermal or mechanical force under program temperature control. Commonly used load methods include compression, penetration, stretching, bending, etc. The test probe is supported by a cantilever beam and a coil spring fixed on it, and a load is applied to the sample through a motor. When the sample is deformed, the differential transformer detects this change and processes it together with data such as temperature, stress and strain The relationship between the deformation of the material and the temperature (or time) under negligible load can be obtained. According to the relationship between deformation and temperature (or time), the physical, chemical and thermodynamic properties of materials can be studied and analyzed. TMA has a wide range of applications. It is mainly used in the analysis of PCB boards for two key parameters of PCB boards: measuring its linear expansion coefficient and glass transition temperature. PCB boards with substrates with too large expansion coefficients often lead to fracture failure of the metallized holes after soldering and assembly. Due to the high-density development trend of PCB boards and the environmental protection requirements of lead-free and halogen-free, more and more PCB boards have various failure problems such as poor wetting, cracking, delamination, CAF and so on. Introduce the application of these analysis techniques in practice. The acquisition of the failure mechanism and causes of the PCB board will be beneficial to the quality control of the PCB board in the future, so as to avoid the recurrence of similar problems.