Präzisions-Leiterplattenherstellung, Hochfrequenz-Leiterplatten, mehrschichtige Leiterplatten und Leiterplattenbestückung.
Leiterplatte Blog
PCB Cooling Technology und IC Packaging Strategy
Leiterplatte Blog
PCB Cooling Technology und IC Packaging Strategy

PCB Cooling Technology und IC Packaging Strategy

2022-11-21
View:84
Author:iPCB

Es istttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt schwierig für Halbleeser Herstellung Unternehmen zu Steuerung die Systeme dalss Verwirndung ihre Geräte. Allerdings, die System mes ICGeräte is kresisch zu die insgesamt Gerät Leistung. Für kundenspezifisch IC-Geräte, System Designer neinrmalerwirise Arbeit eng mit Hersteller zu Sicherstellen dalss die System trifft viele Kühlung Anfürderungen vauf hoch Leistung Verbrauch Geräte.

Dies früh gegenseitig Zusammenarbeit keinn Sicherstellen dalss die IC-Geräte trifft die elektrisch Nodermen und Leistung Nodermen, während Sicherstellung nodermal Betrieb in die des Kunden Kühlung System. Viele groß Halbleiter Unternehmen verkaufen Geräte mit Stundard Teile, und dodert is no Kauftakt zwischen Hersteller und Terminal Anwirndungen. In dies Falle, we kann nur Verwendung einige allgemein Leitlinien zu Hilfe erreichen a besser passiv Kühlung Lösung für ICund System.

Abbildung 1 PowerPad Design
Die zuerst Alspekt vauf PCB-Design dass kann Verbesserung diermisch Leistung is PCB-Design Layout. Wann immer möglich, die hoch Leistung Verbrauch Komponenten on die PCB sollte be getrennt von jede undere. Dies physisch Abstund zwischen hoch Leistung Verbrauch Komponenten maximiert die Fläche von die PCB um jede hoch Leistung Verbrauch Komponente, dadurch Beitrag zu besser Wärme Leitung. Pflege sollte be eingenommen zu Isolbei die Temperbeiur empfindlich Komponenten on die PCB von die hoch Leistung Verbrauch Komponenten. Wann immer möglich, hoch Leistung Verbrauch Komponenten sollte be installiereniert weg von PCB Ecken.

Die mehr zentral PCB Position kann Maximieren die Brett Fläche um die hoch Leistung Verbrauch Komponenten zu Hilfe Wärme Dissipbeiion. Abbildung 2 Shows zwei identisch Halbleiter Geräte: Komponenten A und B. Komponente A is lokalisiert at die Ecke von PCB-Design, und dodert is a Chip Kreuzung Temperatur 5% höher als dass von Komponente B, weil die Position von Komponente B is näher zu die Mitte. As die Fläche um die Komponente für Wärme Dissipation is kleiner, die Wärme Dissipation at die Ecke von Komponente A is begrenzt.


Abb. 2 Wirkung von Komponente Layout on diermisch Leistung. Die Chip Temperatur von PCB Ecke Montage is höher als dass von Zwischenprodukt Montage.
Die zweite Aspekt is die Struktur von die PCB, die hat die die meisten entscheidend Einfluss on die diermisch Leistung von PCB Design. Die allgemein Grundsatz is dass die mehr Kupfer in PCB, die höher die diermisch Leistung von System Komponenten.

Die ideal Wärme Dissipation Zustund von Halbleiter Geräte is dass die Chip is montiert on a groß Stück von flüssig gekühlt Kupfer. Für die meisten Anwendungen, dies Montage Methode is nicht praktisch, so we kann nur machen einige undere Änderungen zu PCB zu Verbesserung die Wärme Dissipation Leistung. Für die meisten Anwendungen heute, die insgesamt Volumen von die System geht weiter zu schrumpfen, die hat a negativ Auswirkungen on die diermisch Leistung. A größer PCB hat a größer Fläche dass kann be verwendet für Wärme Leitung, und auch hat größer Flexibilität, verlassen genug Raum zwischen hoch Leistung Verbrauch Komponenten.
Wann immer möglich, Maximieren die Zahl und Dicke von PCB Kupfer Erdung Ebenen. Die Gewicht von Boden Flugzeug Kupfer is allgemein groß, und it is an ausgezeichnet Wärme Pfad für die ganz PCB zu dissipieren Wärme.

IC.jpg

Für Verbesserung Wärme Dissipation Leistung, die oben und unten Ebenen von PCB sind "golden Stundorte". Verwendung breiter Drähte und Verkabelung weg von hoch Leistung Verbrauch Geräte kann Bereseinetellung a Heizung Pfad für Wärme Dissipation. Die Spezial Wärme Leitung Platte is an ausgezeichnet Methode für PCB Wärme Dissipation. Die Wärme Leitung Platte is allgemein lokalisiert on die oben or zurück von die PCB und is diermisch verbunden zu die Gerät durch direkt Kupfer Verbindung or diermisch Durchgangsloch.

Im Falle von Inline-Verpackungen (nur die Verpackung mit Leitungen auf beiden Seiten) kann diese Wärmeleitungsplatte auf der Oberseite der Leiterplatte angeordnet werden, und ihre Fürm ist wie ein "Hundeknochen" (die Mitte ist so klein wie das Paket, der Kupferbereich, der weit von der Verpackung verbunden ist, ist groß, und die Mitte ist klein und die beiden Enden sind groß). Bei vier Seitenverpackungen (es gibt Leitungen auf allen vier Seiten) muss sich die Wärmeübertragungsplatte auf der Rückseite der Leiterplatte befinden oder in die Leiterplatte gelangen.


Abbildung 3 Beispiel von "Hund Knochen" Methode für dual in-line Paket
Increasing die Größe von die Wärme Leitung Platte is an ausgezeichnet Weg zu Verbesserung die diermal Leistung von PowerPad Verpackung. Unterschiedlich Größen von Wärme Leitung Plattes haben zull Einfluss on diermal Leistung. Die Produkt Daten Blatt zur Verfügung gestellt in tabellarisch Fürm allgemein Listen diese Abmessungen. Allerdings, it is schwierig zu quantifizieren die Auswirkungen von Kupfer hinzugefügt zu kundenspezifisch PCBs. Mit einige online Rechner, Benutzer kann wählen a Gerät, und dien ändern die size von die Kupfer Pad zu Schätzung seine Auswirkungen on die diermisch Leistung von nicht JEDEC PCB. Diese Berechnung Werkzeuge Hervorheben die Einfluss von PCB Design on Wärme Dissipation Leistung. Für die vier Seite Paket, die Fläche von die oben Pad is nur kleiner als die bsind Pad sinda von die Gerät. In dies Fall, die zuerst Weg zu erreichen besser Kühlung is zu begraben or zurück Ebene. For dual in-line Paket, we kann Verwendung die "Hund Knochen" Pad style zu dissipieren Wärme.


Endlich, Systeme mit großr PCBs kann auch be verwendet for Kühlung. Wann die Schraube Wärme Dissipation is verbunden zu die Wärme Leitung Platte und die Boden Flugzeug, einige Schrauben verwendet zu install PCB kann auch werden wirksam Wärme Pfade zu die System Basis. ConSeitering die Wärme Leitung Wirkung und Kosten, die Zahl von Schrauben sollte be die maximal Wert zu Reichweite die Punkt von abnehmend Rückgabe. Nach Verbinden zu die Wärme Leitung Platte, die Metall PCB Bewehrung Platte hat mehr Kühlung Fläche. For einige Anwendungen wo die PCB Abdeckung hat a Gehäuse, die Typ kontrolliert Schweißen Reparatur Material hat höher diermisch Leistung als die luftgekühlt Gehäuse. Kühlung Lösungen, solche as Lüfter and Wärme Spülen, sind auch häufig Methoden von System Kühlung, aber diey normalerweise verlangen mehr Raum, or Bedarf zu modifizieren die design zu optimieren die Kühlung Wirkung.


In Bestellung zu design a System mit hoch diermisch Leistung, it is weit von genug zu wählen a gut IC-Geräte and geschlossen Lösung. Die diermisch Leistung Terminplanung von IC-Geräte depEnden on die Kapazität von PCB and die thermisch System dass erlaubt IC-Geräte to cool schnell. The passiv Kühlung Methode kann stark Verbesserung the Wärme Dissipation Leistung von the System.

Precision PCB Fabrication, High-Frequency PCB, High-Speed PCB, Standard PCB, Multilayer PCB, and PCB Assembly.
The most reliable PCB & PCBA custom service factory.
PCB Blog
PCB Cooling Technology and IC Packaging Strategy
PCB Blog
PCB Cooling Technology and IC Packaging Strategy

PCB Cooling Technology and IC Packaging Strategy

2022-11-21
View:33
Author:iPCB

It is difficult for semiconductor manufacturing companies to control the systems that use their devices. However, the system with  IC devices is critical to the overall device performance. For customized  IC devices, system designers usually work closely with manufacturers to ensure that the system meets many cooling requirements of high power consumption devices.

This early mutual cooperation can ensure that the IC devices meets the electrical standards and performance standards, while ensuring normal operation in the customer's cooling system. Many large semiconductor companies sell devices with standard parts, and there is no contact between manufacturers and terminal applications. In this case, we can only use some general guidelines to help achieve a better passive cooling solution for IC and system.

Figure 1 PowerPad Design
The first aspect of PCB design that can improve thermal performance is  PCB design layout. Whenever possible, the high power consumption components on the PCB should be separated from each other. This physical spacing between high power consumption components maximizes the area of the PCB around each high power consumption component, thereby contributing to better heat conduction. Care should be taken to isolate the temperature sensitive components on the PCB from the high power consumption components. Whenever possible, high power consumption components should be installed away from PCB corners.

 

The more central PCB position can maximize the board area around the high power consumption components to help heat dissipation. Figure 2 shows two identical semiconductor devices: components A and B. Component A is located at the corner of  PCB design, and there is a chip junction temperature 5% higher than that of component B, because the position of component B is closer to the middle. As the area around the component for heat dissipation is smaller, the heat dissipation at the corner of component A is limited.


Fig. 2 Effect of component layout on thermal performance. The chip temperature of PCB corner assembly is higher than that of intermediate assembly.
The second aspect is the structure of the PCB, which has the most decisive influence on the thermal performance of PCB design. The general principle is that the more copper in PCB, the higher the thermal performance of system components.

 

The ideal heat dissipation condition of semiconductor devices is that the chip is mounted on a large piece of liquid cooled copper. For most applications, this mounting method is not practical, so we can only make some other changes to PCB to improve the heat dissipation performance. For most applications today, the total volume of the system continues to shrink, which has a negative impact on the thermal performance. A larger PCB has a larger area that can be used for heat conduction, and also has greater flexibility, leaving enough space between high power consumption components.
Whenever possible, maximize the number and thickness of PCB copper grounding layers. The weight of ground plane copper is generally large, and it is an excellent heat path for the whole PCB to dissipate heat.

IC.jpg

For improving heat dissipation performance, the top and bottom layers of PCB are "golden locations". Using wider wires and wiring away from high power consumption devices can provide a heating path for heat dissipation. The special heat conduction plate is an excellent method for PCB heat dissipation. The heat conduction plate is generally located on the top or back of the PCB and is thermally connected to the device through direct copper connection or thermal through-hole.

 

In the case of inline packaging (only the packaging with leads on both sides), this heat conduction plate can be located on the top of the PCB, and its shape is like a "dog bone" (the middle is as small as the package, the copper area connected far from the package is large, and the middle is small and the two ends are large). In the case of four side packaging (there are leads on all four sides), the heat transfer plate must be located at the back of the PCB or enter the PCB.


Figure 3 Example of "dog bone" method for dual in-line package
Increasing the size of the heat conducting plate is an excellent way to improve the thermal performance of PowerPad packaging. Different sizes of heat conducting plates have great influence on thermal performance. The product data sheet provided in tabular form generally lists these dimensions. However, it is difficult to quantify the impact of copper added to customized PCBs. With some online calculators, users can select a device, and then change the size of the copper pad to estimate its impact on the thermal performance of non JEDEC PCB. These calculation tools highlight the influence of PCB design on heat dissipation performance. For the four side package, the area of the top pad is just smaller than the bare pad area of the device. In this case, the first way to achieve better cooling is to bury or back layer. For dual in-line package, we can use the "dog bone" pad style to dissipate heat.


Finally, systems with larger PCBs can also be used for cooling. When the screw heat dissipation is connected to the heat conduction plate and the ground plane, some screws used to install PCB can also become effective heat paths to the system base. Considering the heat conduction effect and cost, the number of screws should be the maximum value to reach the point of diminishing returns. After connecting to the heat conduction plate, the metal PCB reinforcement plate has more cooling area. For some applications where the PCB cover has a housing, the type controlled welding repair material has higher thermal performance than the air-cooled housing. Cooling solutions, such as fans and heat sinks, are also common methods of system cooling, but they usually require more space, or need to modify the design to optimize the cooling effect.


In order to design a system with high thermal performance, it is far from enough to choose a good IC devices and closed solution. The thermal performance scheduling of IC devices depends on the capacity of PCB and the thermal system that allows IC devices to cool rapidly. The passive cooling method can greatly improve the heat dissipation performance of the system.